Alex Salmond elected as our MP

As part of a landslide of SNP gains in the 2015 General Election, Alex Salmond was elected as the MP representing the Gordon constituency (which includes Kintore).

Alex Salmond MP for Gordon

Alex Salmond takes over the seat from Sir Malcolm Bruce, who had represented Gordon in the UK Parliament since the 1983 General Election. Sir Malcolm announced his retirement and did not stand at this election, the Liberal Democrat candidate being Christine Jardine.

Alex Salmond, First Minister of Scotland from 2007 to 2014, previously served as the MP for Banff and Buchan from 1987 to 2010. He is currently MSP for Aberdeenshire East in the Scottish Parliament.

Alex Salmond won the seat with 27,717 votes – 48% of the votes cast, representing a majority of 8,687.

blog comments powered by Disqus
© 2001-2019 Contact us